Whainga ako o taku korero

by Waimirirangi Stowers
Kia ora

The Korero block means we are not allowed to speak English and we have to speak Māori for 30 minutes. A goal I should have had was to speak Te Reo out in society. I am going to try and speak Te Reo at home more and for and hour and speak confidently on taumata. I do like talking to my friends in Māori sometimes. But I don’t speak to them much in Māori.

I love to do the Karanga when manuhiri come to our school because welcoming the manuhiri is fun. It was really tricky calling in the manuhiri on my first time but as I did it more I got more confident at doing it. But I am still working on doing my mihi on the Taumata. I have to learn my mihi a bit more and then I think I will be very confident on taumata and saying my mihi.

One of the videos are me doing my pepeha. The other one is me and my friends talking about going to the Hokomaha in Te Reo Maori. Because next week we are going to the supermarket to buy some items and we are not allowed to speak English.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *